It’s Not About Me

Am I the only one who seeks for validation? For the approval of people in choices I’m making? Things I’m posting? Ways I parent? Etc. etc. etc.

I don’t think you would have to read too many of my posts to know I struggle with caring too much what other people think.

I am a work in progress. We all should be.

Often times I write God uses me to write a post but then I wonder… Did anyone read it? What did they think? Do they agree? And the Holy Spirit must calm my soul and remind me, “It’s not about me.”

Don’t we all do this? At least to a certain degree?

I am finding, each day, I must sit back and let Him do His work. He has called me and wants to use me. For. HIS. Purpose!

It’s. Not. About. Me. It’s about Him!

We want to be used by God. We want to be in His perfect will. We want to do His work and bring glory to Him. But then we worry.

Isn’t that funny?! Our human nature. We must fight it.

God wants to use ME. He wants to use YOU. And we need to remember, it’s not about us and it never was.

If God has called you to it, and you are doing it, then you are where you need to be. Doing what you need to be doing. Let Him use you and don’t worry if someone approves.

Yeah… I hear ya Holy Spirit 😉

What have you been worrying about and not fully giving to God?

One thought on “It’s Not About Me

  1. Thanks Tiff!!! Really needed that right now!!! Got a new assistant manage at work that’s making life really difficult! My job is already a stressful one and she just adds to it. I’ve really gotta give this job to God. It’s what I turkey love to do, or I wouldn’t leave my family 3 12-14 hour days to do it. I know you’ve heard me complain a lot about it but it’s this hospital, this situation I’m not crazy about. I know I’ve been called to be a healthcare provider, but I know I need to be in a different position that I am in too… Anyway I’ve allowed this person to make me crazy because I seek her approval and I’m not sure I would ever get it anyway! So thank you for helping me reevaluate my situation and realize I need to change my thinking!

Leave a comment