A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 7-11

Did you see my post on 1 John 2:3-6?

Hi! Let’s get these devotions back up and going! God is moving in our lives, and we are amazed everyday and that things He is doing in and through us. We thought we were heading in one direction, but God has pointed us in another for the time being. I am excited to see where it will lead me and my family. I am so blessed!

Opening Prayer

God, thank You! Thank You that even when we make our own plans, You step in to guide us the way we should be going. Thank You that You are faithful and providing for us everyday!

Thank You for sending our church a new Pastor!!!! Thank You for leading us through a tough several months, and never giving up on us. Thank You for the amazing things You have in store for our church and this community!

Speak to me today. Use Your Word to confirm the plan You have for each and every one of us! Amen.

Scripture

1 John 2:7-11

7 Dear friends,   I am not writing you a new command but an old one, which you have had since the beginning.   This old command is the message you have heard. 8 Yet I am writing you a new command;  its truth is seen in him and in you, because the darkness is passing  and the true light  is already shining.

9 Anyone who claims to be in the light but hates a brother or sister  is still in the darkness. 10 Anyone who loves their brother and sisterlives in the light,   and there is nothing in them to make them stumble. 11 But anyone who hates a brother or sister  is in the darkness and walks around in the darkness.  They do not know where they are going, because the darkness has blinded them. (NIV)

Application

What a strong command! Obviously one we struggle with often or it would not have to be emphasized over and over again. Love, love, love! If we ever get overwhelmed with the Bible and all of the commands, just love. How can we go wrong if we love?

I don’t mean love the sin. Some argue we should allow things to happen, or it’s ok for people to do this or that because it’s all out of love. “God won’t condemn people for who the love.” and such. This is simply not true. God will still judge those according to their sins, even if it is done in “love.” This scripture speaks to us about loving one another and showing God’s love. God loves all of us, but that does not mean He encourages acts of sin.

Moving on, because that is not the point. So what is the point? We oftentimes hold onto anger, bitterness, resentment. We forget to forgive and show love. Christ loves us and we need to show that same love. People will learn about Christ and His love by how we represent Him. We must be in the light as He is. We must love and forgive as He does. It is so easy to say this, but so difficult to do at times, especially when we are hurt deeply.

I struggled with forgiveness several years ago. I found myself angry at a close loved one and unable to truly love them. I had to pray and pray and pray that God would help me to forgive and learn to love them again. It took a long time to get past the hurt and deep scars, but with God as my strength, I was able to love again and truly forgive.

We must watch carefully for the small acts of hatred we show too. We can see the big ways people hurt us, and we know we need help to forgive, but sometimes it’s the little things we let slide into our hearts. We begin to slowly hate someone without even realize what we are doing, or with simple justifications. I am so thankful that this Word reminds me to love and to live in the light. And, that I serve a God who helps me show the love that may not always be easy for me.

Closing Prayer

God, thank You for the reminder that I need to love. You have shown me so much love even when I didn’t deserve it. Who I am if I do not show that same love in return? Help me show that same love and forgiveness. I love you! Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 7-11

  1. Yesterday I heard a sermon about anger, today I’ve been praying & struggling with anger, and now this. Then while I’m typing this message the person I’m struggling with calls me… God give me love today!

Leave a Reply

