A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 3-6

Did you see my post on 1 John 2:1-2?

I have missed my blog!!! And my wonderful readers!! We are getting our house ready to sell: boxing up, taping walls, painting, yard work, and about to put in hardwood floors. Whew! In addition, my husband and I decided I would accept an offer on part time job that allows me to bring my kids. This has been quite a change for us this week, and we are learning to adjust. Thanks for your patience on this journey!

Opening Prayer

God, wow what a week! A lot of changes and unexpected things coming my way. I am so thankful that no matter what I am faced with You are with me and I am living in Your Will. Speak to me and give me the strength I need to face what is still to come.  Amen.

Scripture

1 John 2:3-6

We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands. The man who says, “I know him,” but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in him. But if anyone obeys his word, God’s love is truly made complete in him.This is how we know we are in him: Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did. (NIV)

Application

Wow! This is EXACTLY what I needed to be reminded of right now. It amazes me how God knows exactly what we need to hear especially when we are feeling discouraged.

We must obey His commands. He commands us to love Him first. He commands us to love one another. His Word is filled with commands that help us lead happy, fulfilling lives, that share His light. He wants us to be honest and trustworthy people. He wants us to live our lives following His Word.

We may fall short, but, as His Word told us in the previous verses, He forgives us those sins. He wants us to walk in His light. He wants us to read and listen to His Word and what He tells us in our prayer time with Him. We may not always understand why things happen, but we must trust that if we are living as Jesus lived, we cannot go wrong.

We must obey Him to show that we love Him! I believe this is how others will also know we are living with Christ. We can look to see if they are obeying the Word. We can check their actions with the Bible. I am not talking about judgement, but common sense. In order to know who to trust and who to listen to (as in our pastors and teachers), we must first look to see that they are obeying the Word. It is our rule book and teaches us how to live. If people claim to be living for Him, but do not follow His example, we need to be mindful.

This is also how we know how to live our own lives. We shouldn’t just use the Bible to check other people’s motives, we should use it to check our own motives. We should use His Word as a guide. How wonderful that not only did He send His son to die for us, so that He can forgive us our sins, but He also sent His Son to set an example for how we should live our lives. There is no better example!

Closing Prayer

Lord, You are so amazing and Your Word always leaves me to think and check my actions. I need to make sure I am living just as Your son lived. I need to walk in Your light and share Your love. I need to live by the commands You gave me, and as long as I do that then I know I am living and doing just as I should be. Thank You for this confirmation. I love You! Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 3-6

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 7-11 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

