A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 1-2

Did you see my post on 1 John: 5-10?

Opening Prayer

God, You have amazing ways of opening and closing doors. We do not always understand why things happen the way they do, but I know I am living in Your Will and I am at peace. Show me through Your Word what I need to hear today. Amen.

Scripture

1 John 2:1-2

My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense —Jesus Christ, the Righteous One. He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also forthe sins of the whole world.  (NIV)

Application

This passage continues his statement from chapter 1. We have all sinned. Even as believers we are still sinners and are in need of Jesus’ defense. How amazing that He loves us enough to defend us even when we have wronged Him.

The Bible is clear, do not sin, but if you do, Jesus Christ has already sacrificed for those sins! Wow! Before I was born He knew I would fall short, and He took care of me even then.

Maybe the last part is even more important, for us as believers, to pay close attention to. Yes He died for us, and that is wonderful, but He died for the WHOLE WORLD! It is so easy to feel happy and content. Yippie… I am going to Heaven! I don’t need to worry anymore!

What about those around us? Our friends and family? What about those in other countries where churches cannot be found every 100 yards or so? What am I doing for them?

I can pray more. I can share more with those around me. I can give more to the missionaries that go where I cannot. Oh how we, as Christians, need to focus so much less on us and more on others. I know I get caught up in my world: me and my cute little family! I need to see and remember that Christ didn’t just die for me, but for EVERYONE! Let’s agree not to be selfish with our God!

*Apparently God really wants me to hear this. Our Youth Pastor, Wade, preached about sharing Christ with others this last Sunday. It was a wonderful message he left us with on his last Sunday at our Church.

Closing Prayer

God, wow! You sent Your son to die for me, but also for EVERYONE else. This is not an exclusive group. You didn’t just select a few. You want everyone! Thank You for loving us that much! Remind me always, to live a life that is a testimony to You, but also to share You with everyone! Amen.

3 thoughts on “A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 1-2

  1. Pingback: Verse of the Day: 1 John 4:19 « Mystiic

  2. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 3-6 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

