A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 1: 5-10

Did you see my post on 1 John 1: 1-4?

Opening Prayer

God, I need this time, more than ever, this morning. Please show me what I need to hear! Give me peace and open my eyes to the things I need right now. Amen.

Scripture

1 John 1: 5-10

This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all[b] sin.

If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. 10 If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives. (NIV)

Application

Am I the only one who reads God’s Word and ends up with a ton of Christian songs stuck in my head?!? I just think it’s funny!

Anyways… what a strong message today. Let’s take the Word and read it literally. What does it mean if something is in the light? It means it can be seen. There is nothing hiding. What about the dark? Things are unknown, unseen. You don’t know what to expect.

God is light. He shines on us and nothing is hidden. We cannot be with Him, since He is light, and still be in darkness. If I walk outside and the sun is shining on me, I cannot make myself and my area dark, without putting up a wall. God is our light, we have to live by the truth otherwise we have created this wall. I want to live in the light! I want to be seen and I want to live a life worthy of that light.

No one is perfect. We all sin and fall short, but He forgives our sin. This passage talks about not living in darkness, but yet we all sin. Just because we sin does not mean we are living in darkness. Darkness happens when we shut out God. When we build up the wall to create darkness despite the light.

We need to be honest people. We cannot tell the world become a Christian, stop being sinners. We are all sinners, but we have One who restores us and makes us new each and everyday. The point is that in the light the sin is revealed. It can be seen and taken care of. The light allows us to recognize the sin and confess it to God and seek forgiveness.

Closing Prayer

God, what a wonderful message. You are our light and reveal the things we need to fix. Thank You that even though I am not perfect, You still forgive and want me to live in Your light! I pray You continue to reveal in me the things that I need to work on, and give me wisdom to know how to best serve You. Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 1: 5-10

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: 2 John: 1-2 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

