A Study Through the Bible: James 5:19-20

Did you see James 5:13-18 Post?

Well this is exciting and sad. Today is the last of our study through James! Thanks for joining me. I learned a lot and God really spoke to me. I hope and pray He did the same for you!

Join me next week as I start through 1 John!

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, Thank You for the Book of James. It speaks such truth and is still relevant still today. I have enjoyed all that You have taught me and continue to teach me every time I get in Your Word. Speak to me today and guide my heart’s desires. Amen.

Scripture

James 5:19-20

19 My brothers, if one of you should wander from the truth and someone should bring him back, 20 remember this: Whoever turns a sinner from the error of his way will save him from death and cover over a multitude of sins. (NIV)

Application

What a powerful conclusion. We were all lost at one point. God reached out to us and brought us close to Him. We need to do the same for other believers. I have several friends who were hurt by the church and because of this refuse to attend church and some have still have bitterness to God.

When I hear how they were hurt, it doesn’t surprise me that they left, but it hurts me that no one else has been able to reach out to them and bring them back. We are all human in the church, but as believers we should be held to a higher standard. A standard that shows love, compassion, and understanding, rather than judgement and condemnation. We need to remember “There, but for the grace of God, go I.”

When I meet these people, I show them love. I invite them to my church or to church events they may find interesting. I want them to feel the love and warmth of the church through me and the friendship I offer. We are called to bring them back to the truth. That is a big calling so we better get to work. I know too many who are out there!

Closing Prayer

God, Thank You for a strong message today. You have called us to reach the unbelievers, but You have also called us to reach out to those who have fallen away. The church should be a place of love and oftentimes it ends up being a place full of hurt and anger. Help us to remember how our church should be and to reach out to those who have strayed away. Lead me. Guide me. Send them to me. Amen.

4 thoughts on “A Study Through the Bible: James 5:19-20

  1. I think perhaps one should consider a different paradigm. It is possible to live a godly life away from a church. Although christians do need divine input into their lives, this can take on many forms including preachers on tv, reading the Bible, talking about God with other christians etc. I believe that God calls some christians to minister to non-believers who will not have anything to do with a church or church people. God is adequately powerful enough to quicken those christians who do not attend church as well as those who attend. One specific verse that comes to mind: “…seek and ye shall find, knock and the door will be open, ask and it shall be given unto you…” Also the one about asking God for wisdom found in James does not have a qualifier stating it only applies to church going christians. I think a key motiff in these verses and in the Bible is if one seeks God, God will do his part in one’s life. This applies whether one is Abraham about to sacrifice a son on a mountain or a regular Joe sitting in church every Sunday.

  2. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 3-6 | His Rib

  3. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: 1 John 2: 7-11 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

