A Study Through the Bible: James 5:13-18

Did you see James 5:7-12 Post?

Oh my gosh! I thought I lost this whole post when I was almost finished with it! To make matters worse, I thought I lost it because I thought my computer had a virus. So far things seem fine. I guess it just needed some rest!

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God I praise You and thank You for all that You have shown me through the Book of James. You Word is amazing and is still relevant even today! Speak to me and open my heart to hear from You today. Amen.

Scripture

James 5:13-18

13 Is any one of you in trouble? He should pray. Is anyone happy? Let him sing songs of praise. 14 Is any one of you sick? He should call the elders of the church to pray over him and anoint him with oil in the name of the Lord. 15 And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up. If he has sinned, he will be forgiven. 16 Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.

17 Elijah was a man just like us. He prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years. 18 Again he prayed, and the heavens gave rain, and the earth produced its crops. (NIV)

Application

I remember being a youth at summer camp and I lost my favorite bracelet. I had been walking all over the camp grounds, through the woods, up to the dining halls! The bracelet could be anywhere! I was devastated.

Here I was worshiping God all week and seeking His Will for my life and I lost something precious to me. I know this all sounds silly, but remember I was in youth 😉 and don’t we all have those things (even though we shouldn’t put too much importance into things) that we cherish? This was mine.

I knew I would never find it! I began to pray and pray and pray that I would find it. On my way to worship service that evening, as I walked through the woods, I just happened to look down, and there is was!!! Right there in the dirt, in the middle of this huge wooded area!

This story taught me a powerful lesson at such a young age. Nothing is too small a prayer for God. He hears our cries and answers prayers. When I doubt Him, I remember the sweet, young girl who prayed, even for the small things!

It is so easy to begin complaining or worrying when we are in need. It is easy to run to our friends and family to rant, but sometimes, probably most of the time, we should just stop and pray! This seems like the “Christian” answer, but it is true. He wants us to come to Him with all emotions we go through.

We also need to have accountability. We need trusted Christians surrounding us and encouraging us to make wise choices, especially in areas we would normally fall short in. God also wants us to talk to Him and confess our sins. He knows everything so there is no use in hiding, instead we should seek Him and His strength to overcome our failures. He is wonderful and listens and forgives us!

Closing Prayer

God, Thank You that You hear our prayers. Even the small ones that some may think are silly. You answer all of our prayers in both the way we want and in other ways we may not think we want. Thank You that either way You hear us and love us. Thank You also for forgiveness. Without it we would be condemned to hell. You are so amazing and worthy of praise! Amen.

3 thoughts on “A Study Through the Bible: James 5:13-18

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 5:19-20 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

