A Study Through the Bible: James 5:7-12

Did you see James 5:1-6 Post?

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

Sweet Jesus, Thank You for showing me daily how I can improve and grow stronger. Thank You that You give me wisdom to make the right choices, and wisdom to trust You when I make the wrong choices. Speak to me and change me through Your Word today and everyday. Amen.

Scripture

James 5:7-12

Be patient, then, brothers, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop and how patient he is for the autumn and spring rains. You too, be patient and stand firm, because the Lord’s coming is near. Don’t grumble against each other, brothers, or you will be judged. The Judge is standing at the door!

10 Brothers, as an example of patience in the face of suffering, take the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord. 11 As you know, we consider blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.

12 Above all, my brothers, do not swear—not by heaven or by earth or by anything else. Let your “Yes” be yes, and your “No,” no, or you will be condemned. (NIV)

Application

What beautiful imagery here. Just as the farmer has patience as his crops grow and as he trusts in the land, we must also be patient and trust in our God. He will prepare us, give the “water” we need, use us, and grow us. We must be patient and trust that His timing is wonderful.

I loved this part, “Our destination is already booked and secured; now, we are to concentrate on what to do while we are on our way to His Way!” We know we have secured out spot in Heaven, now we need to do His work here on Earth. How beautiful and makes me feel like I need to be doing more for Him.

I look to serve Him in everything I do, but I know I am also serving him by being a patient mom. I serve Him by teaching and training my children. I serve Him by respecting and lifting up my husband. God gives each of us our own ministries, and oftentimes these aren’t just at the church (building)!

As a mom and a wife, it can be easy to complain about my work. It can be easy to be short with my children, husband, family and friends, and how much easier to be short or become angry with strangers, but God called me to have patience and love to everyone. I should not waste time fighting with God’s people, but instead show them love. I should put in here that is important to “fight” for justice or wrongdoings of the world, such as abortion, but even these should be done in certain manner not just in anger.

God has given us great examples all throughout the Bible. We aren’t the first to deal with stress, or needing patience, and we certainly won’t be the last. It is important to look to the Word to find these stories and learn from and lean on them especially during difficult times.

Oh and how important are our words! People need to be able to come to us and trust that we say is what is true. I use a lot of words during the day, and I try to remind myself to slow down and pay careful attention to what is coming out. Promises made to my children need to be carried out, otherwise what example am I setting. This can be a huge witness to the unbelievers out there. They should be able to look to us and know we are honest people!

Closing Prayer

God, what an amazing reminder. Often I am impatient with You and Your plan, but I need to trust the rain will come. You are preparing me to grow strong, just as the farmer has patience, help me to also.

Your timing is amazing and I want You to use me on the journey. I know you have great places for me to go to, but I know You want to use me even before then. Show me and guide me. Help me and remind me to trust in You always. Thank You for the peace You have given me on this journey as I seek to better Your Kingdom. Amen.

3 thoughts on “A Study Through the Bible: James 5:7-12

  1. Pingback: In God We Trust: True of False? « He Dwells — The B'log in My Eye

  2. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 5:13-18 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

