A Study Through the Bible: James 5:1-6

Did you see James 4:13-17 Post?

Had a wonderfully relaxing weekend with my family! I hope you did too! Excited to get back into our study in James. We will be finishing up this week so I am looking ahead. What would you like us to study next?

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, Thank You for time to relax. Thank You for a rare weekend without many plans. Thank You for an amazing husband, that even with shingles, cooked and took care of me on Mother’s Day! I am so blessed. Speak to me today and remind me how to live my best life possible for You. Amen.

Scripture

James 5:1-6

Now listen, you rich people, weep and wail because of the misery that is coming upon you. Your wealth has rotted, and moths have eaten your clothes. Your gold and silver are corroded. Their corrosion will testify against you and eat your flesh like fire. You have hoarded wealth in the last days. Look! The wages you failed to pay the workmen who mowed your fields are crying out against you. The cries of the harvesters have reached the ears of the Lord Almighty. You have lived on earth in luxury and self-indulgence. You have fattened yourselves in the day of slaughter.[a] You have condemned and murdered innocent men, who were not opposing you. (NIV)

Application

This passage is near and dear to me. A year ago I worried and relied on me being employed so that my family could pay bills and lead a good life. I knew God wanted me home, taking care of my children, my house, and my husband, but I couldn’t let go of that safety net.

My trust was not in God but in the things of this world. I finally listened to God and I let go and trusted and relied on Him. Our life had to adjust some, but we have NOT gone without! He has provided and we still live rather comfortably. I have no idea how sometimes, well that’s not true, He provides for those who put their faith in Him and listen when He speaks!

That is exactly what James is speaking about here. Do not worry or trust in the things of the world. Do not hoard or trust in the worldly wealth, but in God’s providing. God wants us to be wealthy on Earth, but to do good with it and not trust in the things of the world.

If we struggle, God hears us and will provide. Also, those that are wealthy should be giving and helping those that need our help. We should not cheat others or take from those that we owe, and we should be giving. Being wealthy is not a sin, the sin comes when we hoard what we are blessed with and rely on the things of the world rather than God.

Closing Prayer

God, Thank You for reminding me you have provided for me and my family. Thank You for reminding me to trust in You and listen when You call us.

Thank You for an amazing year of growth and the time You have given me with my children. This year has been wonderful and I’ve been able to enjoy my kids and watch them grow. I’ve seen a change in my husband who stands proud, and comes home to his home that is taken care of and happy! What a wonderful testimony of Your blessings!

Thank You for Your Word and reminding me to continue to trust in You! You provide wealth and want us to do good with it. Thank You. Lead me and I will follow! Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: James 5:1-6

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 5:7-12 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

