A Study Through the Bible: James 4:13-17

Did you see James 4:11-12 Post?

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, Thank You for reminding me that it is not my place to judge. I have enough to take care of with myself to waste time worrying about other people and what they are doing. Help me to recognize the difference between judging and simply discerning people’s actions and what to do with them. Speak to me today and show me what I need to hear. Amen.

Scripture

James 4:13-17

13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” 16 As it is, you boast and brag. All such boasting is evil. 17 Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins. (NIV)

Application

OK God I hear you! Be patient! Wait! I will show you and lead you!

I LOVE to plan, so this verse is directly written to me! While there is nothing wrong with planning, the wrong comes about when my plans are not relying on and looking to Him.

Oftentimes I find it difficult to just give it to Him and wait. I need to trust that He is in control and will open the right doors and close the wrong ones, but that I still need to move my life forward. I cannot sit around assuming He will just pick us up and put us where we need to be, but we need to be focusing on Him, His Word, and praying for His lead.

This is so incredibly tough for me. The Spirit is constantly having to remind me, “Just wait. I will show you. It will all fall into place perfectly,” but I rest assured on His promises and I know He is with us every step. And I wait in anticipation for all the wonderful things God is doing and is going to do in and with my family!

He has changed me powerfully over the last few months to just let go and let Him move. Wow! What an amazing life I lead now. Most days, instead of worrying about bills and what we are going to do in our future, I am relaxed and comforted in His arms. We are moving forward, but with Him guiding.

Another song comes to mind, Amazed

You dance over me
While I am unaware
You sing all around
But I never hear the sound

Lord I’m amazed by You
Lord I’m amazed by You
Lord I’m amazed by You
How You love me

How wide
How deep
How great
Is Your love for me

Closing Prayer

God, You are so amazing. I love living my life in Your perfect plan! I relax and I am at ease knowing You are leading our family and providing for us because we are living in Your will. You called me home and I listened, and You have provided every step. Thank You! Continue to show me peace in Your will. I love You! Amen.

Leave a Reply

