A Study Through the Bible: James 4:11-12

Did you see James 4:7-10 Post?

Accept my apologies for missing yesterday’s devotional post. I was busy preparing for the day because I took my boys to the zoo! We had such a great time!!!

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, Thank You for family and the time You provide for us to spend together. Thank You that as a mom, You called me to stay home with them and I get to do lots of fun things all day! I love my family and I love reading Your Word. Speak to me today and give me wisdom to have the right attitude with them throughout the day. Amen.

Scripture

James 4:11-12

11 Brothers, do not slander one another. Anyone who speaks against his brother or judges him speaks against the law and judges it. When you judge the law, you are not keeping it, but sitting in judgment on it. 12 There is only one Lawgiver and Judge, the one who is able to save and destroy. But you—who are you to judge your neighbor? (NIV)

Application

Whew! That’s a hard one to swallow! No wonder we are only focusing on two verses here. OK, so here is the problem with church: it is made up of humans! We are all human and all make human mistakes. It is human nature to talk down or gossip about fellow Christians. Especially if we see them doing something terribly wrong, or worse yet, we are jealous of all they are doing right.

Who are we to talk about what others are doing and their intentions? If they are doing something wrong or for the wrong reasons, they will be judged by the only one who can judge.

I remember, very clearly, a long time ago a dear friend of mine telling me that I only sing on stage because I want attention on myself. This hurt me terribly. So much so that I recently realized it is one of the main reasons I no longer sing on stage. I never want my motives to be selfish, but rather to glorify God, so I allowed this person to take me away from that ministry.

Our words are powerful. We have the ability to say such hurtful things that can pull people out of the ministry they are called to. Wow! I know I have been guilty of this.

Just for clarification, we are called to watch people’s motives and to make sure to keep them accountable for their actions. We need to discern whether or not they are bringing others down or speaking evil things, but we are not called to judge them and speak evil over them. What good comes from bad mouthing them or gossiping about them? None!

I needed to hear this terribly. When a church is struggling or going through a transition, sometimes the evil can come out in people. I am only responsible for me and my actions. I will be judged for those actions, so that is where I will try to keep my concerns.

Closing Prayer

Lord, You are so amazing. Thank You for this reminder. I pray You give me the strength to remember to close my mouth. Help me to choose words that lift others up rather than tear them down. Remind me to not gossip or speak evil things about fellow Christians, as sometimes this may be easy to do. Thank You for Your Spirit who helps me in my weaknesses. Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: James 4:11-12

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 4:13-17 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

