A Study Through the Bible: James 4:7-10

Did you see James 4:1-6 Post?

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

Lord, Thank You so much for reminding me to ask You for things and to ask for the right reasons. I want to bring You glory in all I do and sometimes my need for affirmation gets in the way. You are so amazing and wonderful, and Your Word shows me new things each time I step into it. Please show me what I need to hear today. Amen.

Scripture

James 4:7-10

Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you.Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded. Grieve, mourn and wail. Change your laughter to mourning and your joy to gloom. 10 Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up. (NIV)

Application

God wants ME to choose Him over Satan. I need to submit to God and give Him my absolute all. My husband spoke this last Sunday evening to our church, and he said something I just love. He explained that the devil has no power or control over us. He only has as much power or control that WE give him. That means without us he is nothing!

We are to resist him and he will flee from us. I need to focus my attention on Christ and drawing closer to Him. The closer my relationship is with God, the further it is from Satan. This relationship will shine through on other relationships in my life. I believe the closer and strong I get with Christ, the stronger and closer I will get with my husband, children, family, and friends.

I need to be clean with God and wash away the sin in my life so my relationship with Him and others can prosper. I need to cry out for how I fail Him daily and ask for His forgiveness and strength to overcome. He is a wonderful God who has washed away our sins and simply wants us to recognize them and move past them.

This brings to mind a song, Wonderful Maker by Chris Tomlin

What a wonderful Maker
What a wonderful Savior
How majestic Your whispers
And how humble Your love
With a strength like no other
And the heart of a Father
How majestic Your whispers
What a wonderful God

Closing Prayer

Wow God! You are our wonderful maker. Thank You so much that You whisper into our hearts, and lead us into righteousness. Without You I would be lost and in sin. I would be a mess and without hope. Thank You for reminding me that I need to seek after You and away from Satan. With Your wisdom and guidance I can do all things. Forgive me for my human nature and sin. Show me what You want to do in my life. Thank You for Your word. Amen.

5 thoughts on “A Study Through the Bible: James 4:7-10

    • This is a great question!! I went to my husband (I consider him my personal expert since he is a theologian with a degree in biblical studies and is a certified minister… I only say this to show his qualifications), because I feel unqualified at times, just to confirm what I was going to say in response to this question. Most of the Bible and all of the New Testament is written to believers. Even as a believer, we are still sinners. We are human and fail still. He is talking here to the church about their sin.

      Thank you so much for reading and for your comments. I hope this helps some. I don’t think anyone ever has it all figured out 😉 so I just keep studying and hope for the best!

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 4:11-12 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

