A Study Through the Bible: James 4:1-6

Did you see James 3:13-18 Post?

The days I start off in prayer and in the scripture, His Word just meditates in my mind all day. I love starting off in His Word and seeking what He has for me. It gives me a new peace, it renews my spirit, it guides me through my day, and it keeps me focused on what He wants for my life.

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, Thank You for a wonderful weekend with my family. You have blessed me beyond measure.

Today is a new day, and I can tell I need Your help to be patient with the little ones. Speak to me in Your Word. Show me what I need to hear. I will listen. Amen.

Scripture

James 4:1-6

What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you? You want something but don’t get it. You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You do not have, because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.

You adulterous people, don’t you know that friendship with the world is hatred toward God? Anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God. Or do you think Scripture says without reason that the spirit he caused to live in us envies intensely?[a] But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says:

“God opposes the proud
but gives grace to the humble.” (NIV)

Application

Isn’t it just like us to seek after fights? It’s a human nature that I must fight against. My attitude and heart need to look for peace and understanding, and not look for a war. Sometimes it is easier to want the fight rather than the peace. Having dealt with anger in the past, it was often easier for me to just let that side of me take over. This passage reminds me He wants good things for me and doesn’t like to see me in anger over petty things.

I must add here, I am coming to discover that there is nothing particularly wrong with being angry, it is what you do with the anger within you that can be a problem. I believe I need to be angry and fight for the right things. That is not what this passage it talking about.

I want to desire God’s plan for my life and lead a happy life. He goes on to tell us to ask so we can receive, but we will not receive if we are asking out of selfish motives. This is sometimes difficult for me because my love language is words of affirmation. I want, desire, need to hear that I am doing a good job, that I am pleasing people, that I am on the right path. Oftentimes I worry if my motives are right when I ask God for things. I want people to recognize I am doing good, but I do want it to glorify God.

Keeping my prayers in check is a daily struggle for me. I only want things in order to glorify God, but when I need the affirmation too, I wonder if I ask so that I will receive the praise instead of God receiving the praise.

He calls us adulterers! Wow. Is it not true? We are cheating on Christ with the things of the world. We want things we don’t need or shouldn’t have. This is why it is very important we pray daily that God will keep our desires according to His will instead of our selfish desires.

I stole this from the website I am using, “If a new person comes to visit your church, what would they observe? Would they see your church as an example of how to love and care for one another or how to bicker and fight with one another? What about your home, your family? Is it one that quarrels or one that loves? What glorifies our Lord and leads to a better life for us: conflict and violence or love and peace?” How powerful and true!

Closing Prayer

Lord, what a wonderful Word. My desires naturally are worldly, but with Your help I want to desire Your will. Help me remember it is not about glorifying me, but about bring glory to You and Your kingdom. I want my desires to line up with Your will for my life. I want to bring peace and not look for a fight. Thank You as You help me and give me strength daily to overcome my human natures. I love You and seek after Your plans. Amen.

2 thoughts on “A Study Through the Bible: James 4:1-6

  1. Pingback: Selfish Desires « bummyla

  2. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 4:7-10 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

