Thankful Thursday: A Loving Husband and a Strong Marriage

What a wonderful weekend we had at Marriage Encounter!!! I am so thankful to a husband who opens up and is willing to work to make our marriage stronger.

For some time now, I have felt passionate about the power of strong marriages. James and I are open and honest with each other. We share a special relationship. One that God holds in the highest position among human relationships. Next to my relationship with Christ, this is the deepest relationship I can and do have. No other bond will be as sacred as marriage.

Because of this unique relationship God formed between a man and a woman, we must stand together and united, as one. The day we were married we became one. This is amazing to me and the absolute closest example of a relationship I can have with God on earth.

I am to submit to him as the church submits to Christ, and he is to love and protect me as Christ loves and protects the church. Our marriage should be an example of the church and Christ. Wow! That really speaks to me! I want people to see us and see love. I want to feel that love. I want people to see a strong Godly example. I want to be that example, to both my children and everyone else I come in contact with.

I believe many, if not all, of the world’s problems could be solved, or at least manageable, if we took the vows of marriage more seriously. If we, as married couples, worked to make our relationship more united, as one.

What an amazing difference we could see in our churches, in our children, in our workplace, if marriage were truly sacred, if vows were upheld, if we gave instead of took, if we were together instead of fighting to get what we wanted.

This is a passion of mine if you cannot tell! We need to work to make our marriages strong before they have time to fail. We need to encourage others to take their marriage seriously and work through the differences. We need to work on giving instead of taking. It is not about what we can get from the marriage, but instead what we can give to the marriage.

I started this blog with that in mind. Fighting through my ultra feminist ways, and instead seeking God on how to be the submissive (OH NO… she said the terrible S word!), helpmate God wants me to be for my husband. I can lift him up, encourage, and support him, and help him to be the best he can be, which in turn will speak highly of me as a wife, or I can nag, complain, tear down, and destroy who he is as a man in order to lift me up and my needs as a “woman” who needs to be heard and be my own person.

God has not called me to these selfish ways. I have nothing to prove to society. As a woman, I know I can do almost anything a man can do, but that doesn’t mean I need or have to. OK, OK… I can see I am now writing a whole other post. I will do that later.

All that to say, I love my husband and I appreciate that he helps make my marriage stronger. We highly recommend anyone and everyone attend Marriage Encounter. I believe you will find it to be well worth your time, and the small registration fee. They take care of everything so that you can enjoy your time together. I will always remember this last weekend and the wonderful memories that were made and that will stay with us forever.

8 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: A Loving Husband and a Strong Marriage

  1. This may be the best blog you’ve done, Tiffany, and you’ve done some great ones I loved. But, you do a great job here of concisely expressing the purpose of marriage–God wants the world to see what the relationship between Christ and His beloved, the church, is to be. Sadly, statistics show that Christians have almost the same divorce rate as the secular world, yet Christ doesn’t EVER divorce His bride! Oh, we have so much to work toward!

  2. Pingback: Biblical Marriage: Or what the church misunderstands « A Robin Hood's Musing

  3. Pingback: A Former Feminist | His Rib

  4. Pingback: Can You Be a Feminist and Still Be a Godly Woman? | His Rib

  5. Pingback: You Are What You Eat | His Rib

  6. Pingback: Love Actually Is Worth It | On A Date - Date Ideas and Resources for Couples

  7. Pingback: Grace’s Birth Story: WARNING a Miscarriage | His Rib

Leave a Reply

