A Study Through the Bible: James 3:13-18

Did you see James 3:1-12 Post?

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, Thank You for Your Word yesterday and a reminder that my words can either be fresh or like the salt in the sea. I pray You help me with this daily.

Thank You that is Friday! I have a wonderful weekend planned with lots of family activities and I could not feel more blessed. I feel overwhelmed with joy when I look at them and know that You trusted me with them. I pray I can live up to call You have called me to be. Speak to me today and teach me what I need to hear. Amen.

Scripture

James 3:13-18

13 Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom. 14 But if you harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast about it or deny the truth. 15 Such “wisdom” does not come down from heaven but is earthly, unspiritual, of the devil. 16 For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find disorder and every evil practice.

17 But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. 18 Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness. (NIV)

Application

There is such a strong importance placed on wisdom in the Bible. We hear it over and over again. It is important to study God’s Word and pray for wisdom. He will make us wise, but the world will try to convince us how to become wise in other ways. It is easy to want to follow the world’s ways. It is more popular and common, but I don’t want to be popular or common in the world’s eyes.

I want God to lead me and make me wise. I want to go where He is leading and do His work. Sometimes I worry I want this for selfish reasons, but I ask the Spirit to keep my motives in check.

So how do I become wise? How do I keep my motives right and remember to not envy or boast? I stay in His Word and in a prayerful spirit. This is not easy with two small children running around under my feet, a house that needs to be kept up, and a husband who needs my help and encouragement, but it is easier when I start my day in His Word and remember to pray as I feel angry or anxious.

I want to live according to His will and the plan He has for me and my family. I am NOT at all perfect and never will be, but with God’s help I can be more patient and kind. I can lift my family and the church up and do my best to not tear it down. It is only with His help that I can do this.

Closing Prayer

Lord, You are the way, the truth, and the light. I need Your strength and guidance in all I do. Show me Your ways. Show me how to be wise in everything I do. Let me lift up my family. Let me lift up my church. Show me, speak to me, use me. Thank You for Your wisdom each and everyday. I love You! Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: James 3:13-18

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 4:1-6 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

