A Study Through the Bible: James 3:1-12

Did you see James 2:14-26 Post?

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, Thank You for my wonderful family. I love my boys so much and my husband is such an amazing man after Your heart. He is so supportive of me, and encouraging in all I do. Thank You for Your many blessing that I do not deserve. Speak to me and teach me in Your Word. Amen.

Scripture

James 3:1-12

1 Not many of you should presume to be teachers, my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly. 2 We all stumble in many ways. If anyone is never at fault in what he says, he is a perfect man, able to keep his whole body in check.

3 When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal. 4 Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go. 5 Likewise the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. 6 The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of his life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.

7 All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, 8 but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.

9 With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness. 10 Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be. 11 Can both fresh water and salt[a] water flow from the same spring? 12 My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water. (NIV)

Application

This passage is full of such great illustrations. I believe that shows how very important the scripture is. He wants us to hear what He is saying about how powerful our tongue is.

What pressure this speaks over teachers. Everyone must watch their tongue, but the teacher will be held at a higher standard. People watch the teacher and learn from their words. As a mom, I feel parents are the teachers of their children. I don’t mean they all homeschool, I mean we must teach our children. They watch us and hear our words. I must make sure the things coming out of my mouth glorify God.

As a talker, I realize I use a lot of words. I must always think through the words before they leave my lips. I love the analogy here of the spring. I want only fresh water coming from me. God wants to use me, and I desperately want to be used; therefore, I must choose words that lift Him up. Words that speak to edify.

I am guilty of using words that bring people down, or talk negative. Unfortunately, my husband and children often get the brunt of this. God has been changing this in me over the years, and I am thankful for this scripture to remind me how important my control over my tongue is.

Also, I cannot control other people’s tongues. I must choose wisely what I allow myself, or my family to listen to. I must also remember to not continue gossip or negative talk.

Closing Prayer

God, You are so wonderful and You know exactly what we need to hear. You know how great sweet words can be, and how harsh that same tongue can be. What an amazing tool You have given us. A lot of power that we must have control over.

Please help me choose my words wisely. Help me to lift up and glorify in all I do. Spirit, keep me in check. Help to bring positive words into our home, and fight off the negative and discouraging comments I may make. Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: James 3:1-12

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 3:13-18 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

