A Study Through the Bible: James 1:21-27

Did you see James 1:19-20 Post?

Last week God really spoke to me through these passages. This last weekend I had a wonderful time away with my husband. God revealed things to us about our marriage and our family. How wonderful our God is!

I am excited to get back into my study on James! I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, thank You so much for such a powerful Word you left us. Thank You for a wonderful weekend with my husband. We sought after You and Your plan for our marriage and our family. I look forward to all You are going to continue to show us, and how You are going to use us! Speak to me today in Your scripture. Amen.

Scripture

James 1: 21-27

21 Therefore, get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevalent and humbly accept the word planted in you, which can save you.

22 Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. 23 Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror 24 and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. 25 But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does.

26 If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless. 27 Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world. (NIV)

Application

What a wonderful analogy James uses here. When I look in the mirror it is to check myself. I am looking to make sure my hair looks good, and that my face is clean and prepared to be seen by others. When I look in the Word it is to check myself. I am looking to make sure the life I am leading is pleasing to God. I am making sure I am clean and Holy according to my Lord. It would be silly for me to look in the mirror, see a dirty face, and do nothing about it. Isn’t that great?!

He gave us His Word so we have a standard to live by. There are things I read that are difficult to understand, but overall, I can see clearly the life I am supposed to lead. I am so thankful for His Word.

God has also called me to watch what I say and how I say it. Anyone who knows me, knows I am a talker. I have always been a talker, but I am learning more and more that God wants me to listen too. I also need to watch the things I say. God is using me and He can only use me if I tame my tongue for His glory.

I am also called to help those in need. I am so blessed to have a husband whose true heart is to lead a church to care for those in need. As Christians, we have allowed the government to take over this responsibility and we can all see the financial trouble this has put us in. Christians are called to take care of those in need. We should be seeking them out and helping anyway we can. My heart is not always in this, so I am thankful God has given me a husband who encourages this behavior.

Closing Prayer

Lord, how wonderful You are. Thank You so much for this Word today. I need to check myself daily in the mirror of Your Word and clean off the dirt.

 

Please remind me always to watch my Words. They are to be used to glorify You. I don’t want my Words to tear others, but instead lift them up in Your glory.

 

Please also lead me to those who are hurting and in need. Help me to have compassion for them, and give generously to them. Thank You that You have had compassion for me, and You have given generously to me. You are such an awesome God. Amen.

3 thoughts on “A Study Through the Bible: James 1:21-27

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 2:1-13 | His Rib

  2. While reading this I thought about what else is in a mirror. You see I dont like to think of the Bible as only a clensing tool. Jesus said he had not come into the world to judge it but to save it. In a mirror, one can also see actions. The Bible, therefore, is an instructional tool. James is saying look at your life as if in a mirror. Do you see yourself doing the same actions that are done in the Bible? If not, try to immitate the actions you learn about in the Bible. I think worrying about cleansing ones life is relegated to religion while trying to immitate the Bible (Christ in particular) is to what we have been called because Christ already clensed us and set us free. There is a bit of a fine line between emphasizing cleansing and emphasizing immitation, I guess. I like reading your devotionals.

Leave a Reply

