A Study Through the Bible: James 1:19-20

Did you see James 1:12-18 Post?

God has been showing me so much this week. Thank you for joining me on this journey. What an amazing gift God provided for us by giving us His Word. Without it we would truly be lost.

My day is completely different when I start off in His Word. My house is filled with more joy and peace. I love it! I hope you are also finding your joy and peace in His Word!

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, Thank You for your guidebook. Without it I would have no hope. You show me what I need to hear. You open my eyes to things unseen.

 

Everyday is a new day, and I thank You for the gift of life each day. I pray I use that gift to bless and serve others. I pray I use it to glorify you in all I do. Show me what I need to hear today. Amen.

Scripture

James 1: 19-20

19 My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, 20 for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires. (NIV)

Application

This is my goal passage. I must actively aim to achieve this each and everyday. Some days are better than others. Today is one of the harder days. I am in a lot of pain in my neck and back. This makes me quick to anger and not have patience.

I believe this scripture has such a strong importance on all of our lives. Just imagine how peaceful our world could be if we were all quick to listen, and slow to speak and slow to anger. Wow… what a wonderful place that would be.

I am so guilty of disobeying this command and God has been working on my for years. What a wonderful God we serve. He is willing to work with us, and He forgives us when we fail. Without this, I would be condemned. I am so grateful for these reminders in His word, and thankful He forgives when I fail Him.

Closing Prayer

Sweet Jesus, please continue to help me be quick to listen and slow to speak. Sometimes my mouth opens without a thought. I pray Your spirit would help remind me this scripture daily.

 

I want to be slow to anger. I want to set an example of this in my home. Lord help me. Without You I would fail, but with Your strength I am able to overcome.

 

Thank You for being quick to listen. Thank You for being slow to anger with me. You set an awesome example of how I should live my life. I want to be more like You. Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: James 1:19-20

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 1:21-27 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

