A Study Through the Bible: James 1:12-18

Did you see James 1:9-11 Post?

Thank you so much for joining me on this study through James. I pray God is speaking to you and changing you as much as He is me! I don’t know about you, but I notice a huge difference in my day and my thoughts when I have started off with scripture. The Holy Spirit reminds me throughout the day the verse I read. He guides me and helps me reverse my wrong actions.

I firmly believe the Spirit can speak to each of us differently through a passage. Now, I am NOT saying you can make the verse mean what you want it to mean. I believe the Word says what is says and you cannot change that, but how it speaks to each of us specifically may be slightly different given our different circumstances day in and day out.

Having said that, I pray God always lays on my heart what I am needing to hear as I read the Word. I pray He does the same for you!

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, You are awesome and mighty! You have created a Word that can speak to EVERYBODY even in our different circumstances. How amazing! Only Your Spirit could speak so clearly to our hearts through the message.

Thank You for providing us a guide-book to follow. I may not always understand every word clearly, but You lead me in the right direction. If I choose to follow, You will not lead me astray. Thank You for that! I am in awe of You each and everyday. Speak to me today. I am listening. Amen.

Scripture

James 1: 12-18

12 Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.

13 When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; 14but each one is tempted when, by his own evil desire, he is dragged away and enticed. 15 Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.

16 Don’t be deceived, my dear brothers. 17 Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. 18 He chose to give us birth through the word of truth, that we might be a kind of firstfruits of all he created. (NIV)

Application

What an awesome message! We are blessed when we go through trials and persevere because we come out stronger. I am at peace knowing He has promised ME the crown of life. He has promised this to everyone who loves Him! What a wonderful Savior I serve.

There is a certain peace that comes with knowing that God does not tempt me. Oftentimes I want to blame Him for what I am going through, but He does not put me through these things. I cannot say He has tempted me beyond all I can take because He does not tempt me. He wants me to persevere. He wants good for me. He wants the best for my life.

How can a God who tempts and brings about evil, also want good and wonderful things for our lives? I don’t think He can, therefore, He is not tempting us with evil. There is evil in this world. There is evil within us, but we must overcome this evil. We must hold tight to our Lord and all that He has promised us.

Not only does He not tempt us to try to bring out evil, but He sends us “good and perfect gifts!” What a wonderful God! He wants to see us succeed for His glory. I am so thankful that He does want me to be blessed. He wants good things for my life. I can hang on tight that He has given me a new birth! I am new in Him.

Closing Prayer

God, thank You for wanting good things for my life. Thank You for not tempting me with evil, but instead providing me the strength and gifts I need to overcome. You want me to succeed. I pray you guide and show me how I can best serve You in all I do. Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: James 1:12-18

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 1:19-20 | His Rib

Leave a Reply

