A Study Through the Bible: James 1:9-11

Did you see James 1:5-8 Post?

Well, after asking my husband, the amazing Reverend James, a certified minister with the Assemblies of God, his opinion of my devotion yesterday, he informed me that the NLT is a rather interpreted translation. While there is nothing particularly wrong with certain interpretive translations (let’s be honest, they are all technically translated based on some interpretation :)), I would prefer to stick with a more literal translation. So back to the NIV.

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

Lord, thank You for the things You are showing me each and everyday. Thank You for reminding me to have patience with my children, my husband, and people. Each and everyday is a new day and I rejoice in it because You are with me and guiding me.

I praise You for reminding me not to be anxious, but to be still and know You are God. I wait patiently as You are preparing us for the path we will take.

Thank You for believing in me and trusting me with such an amazing responsibility. I love my family and I pray you will make me strong and the best wife and mom I can be. Amen.

Scripture

James 1: 9-11

9 The brother in humble circumstances ought to take pride in his high position. 10 But the one who is rich should take pride in his low position, because he will pass away like a wild flower. 11 For the sun rises with scorching heat and withers the plant; its blossom falls and its beauty is destroyed. In the same way, the rich man will fade away even while he goes about his business.(NIV)

Application

Our hope and trust must be in God. As a big Dave Ramsey supporter, I am always striving for us to pay off our debt and save up money so that we are secure in our finances. This passage reminds me that my faith is in Christ not in my finances. It doesn’t mean we cannot be financially secure, as I believe He wants us to be, it just means that is not where my hope lies.

I strongly believe much good can come from money when it is used to glorify God; giving to the church, supporting missionaries, etc. This passage simply reminds us that it is not where are treasures are stored. Money and the things of this world will fade away. I store my treasures in Heaven!

I don’t know about you, but I can always use a reminder to keep me in check. It is so easy to get caught up in paychecks, paying the bills, stressing about how we will pay the bills and support our missionary, but God ALWAYS provides. I choose to place my focus and trust on Christ and not on finances.

Closing Prayer

God, You are so amazing and awesome. Time and time again, I have trusted You to provide for our family, and You do! I know You called me to stay home with my babies, to take care of my home, husband, and children. This was not an easy choice financially, but you have provided through and through.

You are so wonderful, and I know You will stay while everything else fades away. I put my trust in You. Forgive me when I stress and worry over money. Forgive me when I doubt Your ability. Forgive me for not always trusting in You, but thank You for never leaving me. I am in awe of You and all You do. Amen.

5 thoughts on “A Study Through the Bible: James 1:9-11

  1. God calls us to be good stewards of what we have been given. I think we all rich and poor in different areas. What one does with the areas one is rich in and the areas in which one is poor is what matters. I dont think James limits this particular teaching to finance. Rich and poor were used a lot in the Bible because that was what the audience could immediately relate to because they were an oppressed people (Rome, taxation, religion etc). Dig a little deeper and one discovers that it is possible to be poor financialy and poor in other areas. God’s teachings are meant to help all manner of poorness including financial. For example, no fornication is a teaching. Why? Because it is harder for a single person to financially care for a child amongst other reasons. Therefore fornication can propagate poorness financially and in other areas (development, respect, sexuality etc). The general idea is that if one puts one’s faith in God you and your offspring will not be poor in many areas possibly including financially.

    • I completely agree this is talking about more than just money. Through my devotion I pray God speaks to me in my situation and that was simply what He was talking to me about. Thanks for reading and for your input.

  2. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 1:12-18 « His Rib

Leave a Reply

