A Study Through the Bible: James 1:5-8

Did you see James 1:1-4 Post?

Ahhh… what’s that sound? It’s the sound of the fan blowing and the birds chirping, and the breeze coming in from the window. Peace. Quiet. Normally I sleep in late with the boys, or at least lay in bed checking email from my phone until they wake up. Today, I woke up and debated laying there or going ahead and getting out of bed to do my devotion.

I knew I was going to do it either way. Yesterday I did it while the boys ate breakfast, but it still made it difficult to find true quiet in reading. I get distracted way too easily, but I am of the mind that I would rather do it semi-distracted (and of course, in front of them for them to learn!) than not do it at all.

Needless to say, I got out of bed and I am watching my sweet boys sleep as I study His Word.

I am using this free online Bible study website. Join me!

My Prayer

God, thank You for a new day. Thank You for reminding me yesterday that I need to find joy in my trials. I have no idea why we go through the things we do, but I know we have become stronger for them.

Thank You for constantly reminding me I only have control over my actions. I cannot change most of the things that take place in my life (preemie birth, miscarriages, people moving, deaths, etc.), or what others say and do, but I can change how I choose to react and respond to those things.

Show me in Your Word today how to live my life to the fullest. Show me what I need to hear as a wife, a mother, a daughter, a friend. Use me Lord. Amen.

Scripture

James 1: 5-8

5 If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking. 6 But when you ask him, be sure that your faith is in God alone. Do not waver, for a person with divided loyalty is as unsettled as a wave of the sea that is blown and tossed by the wind. 7 Such people should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.8 Their loyalty is divided between God and the world, and they are unstable in everything they do. (NLT)

Application

Wow, this is what I needed to hear today. I consider myself intelligent, but I often think this works against me. I think we can be “too smart” for our own good. Instead of relying on God and His wisdom to guide me, I oftentimes find I know the logical choice to make, and just do it without thinking what God may want from me.

I do pray regularly that my heart’s desires would line up with His, rather than the other way around, but that doesn’t mean I wait and listen. We must be quick to listen and slow to speak (oops I am getting ahead of myself!).

“Do not escalate your situation by complaining, or distort it by denial, bitterness, or isolation! Do not be dumb, trapped in your own anger and regret. Be smart; be a Christian who learns and grows and who is committed to obedience, spiritual growth, and maturity. Instead of moaning, seek His grace to solve the situation! Do not blame, or seek fault in others or yourself; rather, get on with life and your commitment to Christ. Allow His amazing work in you! Resistance to God, our bad attitudes, and anger only cause us more harm, choosing for ourselves to be tossed by the seas of life without hope or purpose. Let Christ be your anchor, or else you will drown and your life will be a series of wasted opportunities.” Taken from here.

It is so much easier to go to others to complain or to anger within ourselves, than to go straight to God and trust in Him. I’ll admit it, I catch myself complaining or becoming bitter at others and their actions, but I don’t always seek His grace. Wow! How profound!

I love how the Word says, “ask our GENEROUS God.” He wants to lead me and guide me and my family, but I must trust in Him… in Him ALONE. I cannot trust in Him, oh and in my own thoughts and logic. I cannot ask Him to lead me, and also take the reins myself.

I want what He has for my life and family, so I must let go of what I want in this world.

Closing Prayer

Lord, You are so amazing. You make such strong promises and I know You are true to them if we just let You lead. I have seen first hand the power of prayer and letting You be the ruler of our lives.

I give to You all my complaints. Please forgive me for not first seeking You and giving those over. You want my life to be full and happy, yet I insist on hanging on to bitterness and anger. Forgive me for being divided between You and the world.

Savior, I give my distrust to You. I don’t want to waste away this time You have given to me. I want to lead a full life that is filled with Your wisdom and happiness. I no longer want to waste time on anger at others and their choices, but want to focus that energy on serving others for Your sake.

Send me. Use me. Guide me. Give me wisdom. I put my faith in You, and You alone. My faith is not in man, or things of this world. It is not in my husband, nor is his faith in me, but our faith together is in You. Show us what you want for our family. Thank you for everything! We love you. Amen.

One thought on “A Study Through the Bible: James 1:5-8

  1. Pingback: A Study Through the Bible: James 1:5-8 « His Rib

Leave a Reply

