Thankful Thursday: New Series

Wow! Thankful Thursday! Shouldn’t everyday be a day of thanksgiving? Of course!

What a great way to express the things we are thankful for–through a blog post each week.

I am so incredibly thankful for so much. Often times, I lay in bed sleepless, overwhelmed by all the thankful thoughts. My God has given me so much that I am not deserving of, yet He loves me that much.

This new blog series, like my Menu Planning series, will take place once a week, and always on the same day. Thankful Thursday is a wonderful idea I stole from a couple of blogs I have been following: Sacred Mommyhood and The Marathon Mom. Maybe they stole it too, or just creatively came up with it on their own.  Who knows?  Either way, today I join in on the journey.

As I write, I am already flooded with thoughts of things to be thankful for: family, friends, blog, blog followers, time, health, etc. So to start it off right, since I am writing this on my blog, let’s start there.

For some time, I have felt God pulling at my heart to write. I have a degree in Mathematics, so why in the world would I write? I write because God is changing me. He is growing me. He is developing in me who I need to be as a wife and a mom. As a person in our society. As a world changer.

I thought I knew what that would mean. I thought I knew where that would lead me. I thought… wait, isn’t that the problem ;-)? I thought and I planned.

Since having children, God has taken my life on a strange twist I never saw coming. I had everything figured out; throw in some, “And this is probably what I will do then (after… I get married, have kids, they go to school, etc.)…,” and I was set. No need for God to guide me. I’ve got this!

Boy was I wrong. He has been really challenging me in my feminist ways. I am to submit to Him and what He wants for my life. You can already see how my stubborn ways have been fighting this tooth and nail.

As I felt the tug to write, and without expressing these thoughts, I was also being strongly encouraged by my wonderful mother-in-law to start a blog. As I shared with her how I felt God was leading me that direction too, she began to share her heart with where she thought I should go with it, and it lined up perfectly with what God had been showing me.

How wonderful!! God has such amazing ways of verifying our thoughts and His direction.

So today, I am thankful for God’s wisdom, and leading me to write. I am thankful that He oftentimes gives me the words when I have none. I am thankful for the support from friends and family as I write. I am thankful to those who read my posts. I am thankful for the feedback people offer. I am thankful that I am still growing through each post, and that God is using my growing pains to help others, too.

What are you thankful for on this Thursday?

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: New Series

  1. Wow! Love this post! God is so good to continually mold and shape us into His image. I love when he reaveals to us that His plan is different from ours. One of my favorite verses is Proverbs 16:9…A man plans his way, but God directs His steps. What assurance that God is directing us even when we think WE are directing ourselves!

    I added you to my blogroll….will enjoy coming back to read your thoughts!

    Thank you so much for mentioning me on this post! As far as Thankful Thursday, I started linking up with The Marathon Mom’s Thankful Thursdays. So mine came from her. 🙂

    Keep up the wonderful writing! I remember telling you this before….but you have a beautiful family! 🙂 Blessings!

    Oh…have you created a FB blog page? If so, let me know and I’ll give you a shout out from mine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

