How to Coupon Successfully: Why Coupon

Check out How to Coupon Successfully: The Start of a Series

Why should I coupon?”

This is a question I am asked often. For me the answer seems simple… to save your family money!

Although this may seem like a good enough answer, some do not see the full value of this. For example, I hear often, “but I do not use most of those items,” or “There are not coupons for the items I use.”

I understand this concept, especially when we live in such a “Green Age.” Many people are making their cleaning products rather than buying them now. Also, many people are doing their best to avoid prepackaged food items, and let’s face it, a lot of the coupons are for this very thing.

Despite my efforts to make food from scratch, sometimes we still need a quick snack. So for now, I will continue to use some of the “naughty” coupons… at least that is how some well-meaning people make me feel when I buy those items.

There are still A LOT of other coupons to choose from. Toilet paper, paper towels, laundry detergent, fabric softener, razors, shampoo, conditioner, drinks, condiments, and cooking supplies just to name a few.

You can also take the coupons you might not normally use to get great deals on things to donate to food pantries or drives. Those coupons you do not use can be given to  friends, family, or even donated to military families.

This is what I love about couponing!

When I am at the top of my game, my pantry and laundry room is FULL! My family can find a lot of options to choose from, and road trips are taken care of. We don’t have to run to the store to get snacks for the car, we just go to our pantry.

When we find out about needs in our church or with friends and family, we just go to our pantry and fill up a box. What a great feeling! To know you can give, and do so without regret of how much you spent, is such a wonderful experience.

We are called to give and to take care of those in need. Couponing has allowed my family to do this. By taking the time to coupon, I am able to get more with our money and not worry when we need to give away some of it.

Check out How to Coupon Successfully: Where to Get Coupons

Why do you coupon?

4 thoughts on “How to Coupon Successfully: Why Coupon

  1. Pingback: How to Coupon Successfully: The Start of a Series « His Rib

  2. Pingback: How to Coupon Successfully: Where to Get Coupons « His Rib

  3. Pingback: How To Coupon Successfully: Organizing Your Coupons « His Rib

Leave a Reply

